Board Members

Owen Hegarty - Chairman
Owen is Board Chairman of Lubambe and Executive Chairman of EMR Capital. He has more than 40 years’ experience in the global mining industry. Owen is a Fellow and Former Director of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (AusIMM), and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD). He is also an advisor on mining and resources generally to a number of government and industry associations. In 2006, Owen was awarded the AusIMM Institute Medal for his leadership and achievements in the mining industry, and in 2008 he was awarded the GJ Stokes Memorial Award for his distinguished service to the mining industry
Peter Albert - Non-Executive Director
Peter is a Copper Assets Executive for EMR Capital. He has over 30 years of mining industry experience including developing and operating large scale mining operations in many countries such as Australia, Spain, Indonesia, Laos, Cambodia, Thailand, Zambia, South Africa and the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). His experience includes open pit and underground mines in a number of different commodities, including copper, gold, platinum, potash, phosphate, uranium and rare earths. Throughout his career, Peter has worked with various members of the EMR team. Most recently, Peter was the CEO and Managing Director of the ASX listed company, Highfield Resources Limited, overseeing the development of potash projects in Spain. Prior to this role, he was the CEO of Jinchuan Group International Resources Co. Ltd., a mining multinational listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. Prior to that, he was the CEO of G-Resources Group Ltd., an investment holding company listed on the Hong Kong stock exchange mainly engaged in the exploration, mining and sale of gold and silver products. Other positions he has held have been at the senior/executive level in OZ Minerals, Oxiana Limited, Fluor Corporation and Shell-Billiton. The development of large copper and gold projects in Laos resulted in Oxiana being selected as the best mining project in the world at the London Mines and Money Conference in 2006. Peter is a Chartered Engineer, a Member of the Material, Mineral and Mining Institute-UK (IOM3) and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (AusIMM). Peter has twice won the Mining CEO of the Year Award at the Asian Mining Conference in 2012 and 2013. In 2015, he was a nominee for CEO of the Year at the Asia Mines and Money Conference in Hong Kong.
Tim Duffy - CEO and Managing Director
Tim is an international mining executive with almost 30 years experience in the mining industry. He has an outstanding track record of achievements in relation to delivering outcomes surrounding competitiveness, profitability and growth. In addition to his executive experience, working at an international level has enabled Tim to have a detailed understanding of broader corporate challenges such as the impact on environmental, social and governance factors. Prior to joining Lubambe, Tim was Vice President Director and CEO of PT Agincourt Resources in Indonesia. During this time, he was part of a team which developed a green fields gold project into the highly successful Martabe Gold Mine.
Mabvuto Chipata - Non Executive Director
Mabvuto is ZCCM-IH CEO representing shareholder ZCCM-IH. He has over 20 years Senior Management experience in Accounting, Finance and Investment management in a cross section of industries. He joined ZCCM-IH in July 2012 and served as Chief Financial Officer until 2017, after which he took up the position of Chief Investments Officer. He holds a Bachelor of Accountancy Degree and is a Chartered Certified Accountant (FCCA). He is also a trained Stockbroker and a Fellow of the Zambia Institute of Chartered Accountants.
Nick Bowen - Non Executive Director
Nick is the former CEO of Lubambe Copper Mine, with over 35 years experience across six continents. He is an experienced Managing Director and business leader with extensive mining, construction and service industry knowledge. Nick is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, life member of WA Chamber of Minerals and Energy, Associate Fellow of the Australian Institute of management, a member of the Australian Institute of mining and metallurgy and a professional member of the engineering Institute of Zambia (EIZ). Before joining Lubambe, he served as Executive Global Head of Operations at Kumba Iron from 2016 to 2017.